GOOD THINGS COME TO THOSE WHO HUSTLE

FullSizeRender (4)

For as long as I can remember I wanted to start a blog. In fact, I did start one. Well, kinda. This little blog was created back in 2012 as I was preparing to graduate from college. I wrote one post and then pressed save and didn’t look at it again until 2013 when I wrote my one published post that has sat on this blog for the past two years–lonely and wishing for some other posts to keep it company.

Finding the “purpose” for a blog is a bit stressful and probably one of the reasons I have been so wishy-washy with actually starting this thing. I have read a million articles and blog posts about how to “find your niche” and how important it is to differentiate yourself from everyone else and it all just seemed like a lot of work, time and effort. However, a few weeks ago I stumbled across this quote and all those questions didn’t really seem to matter anymore.

“The one thing that you have that nobody else has is you. Your voice, your mind, your story, your vision. So write and draw and build and play and dance and live as only you can.”

So here I am. AND here are my…

Three reasons why I am starting a blog {and maybe you should too!}

1. To Share.

You know what? Life is hard. And sometimes I really like knowing that somewhere, someone is going through the same thing. Being in your 20s is tough and if you’re like me, we are all going to make both really good and really bad choices. I want to be able to share with others the good and the bad and {hopefully} help make this world a little less lonely.

2. To Have Fun.

I’m lucky that I have a job that really allows me to express my creativity. However, that doesn’t change the fact that it is a J.O.B. and sometimes there are things I want to try that don’t necessarily fall into “appropriate for work” category. I want this blog to be a creative outlet. Creativity inspires creativity.

3. To Grow

Anyone who knows me knows that I love to learn. Sometimes learning takes place through books but other times learning takes place through experiences. Either way, learning always causes me to grow. It makes me see the world differently and I like that. I want to push myself out of my comfort zone. I want to try new things and I want to write about them.

As Abe Lincoln said, “Things may come to those who wait but only the things left by those who hustle.” I don’t know about you but I’m done waiting. Time to get my hustle on.

xoxo,

Alaethea

Leave a Reply

